The Meatless Wonder

Going Vegetarian in the Land of Steak

Reviewed: Cosmic Cafe February 10, 2009

Filed under: Restaurant Review — Josh @ 9:55 pm

Cosmic Cafe

It is the mecca for vegetarians and vegans in Dallas.  An oasis of tofu in a desert of steakhouses.  It is, of course, The Cosmic Cafe (formerly Cosmic Cup).  This is one of Dallas’ few Vegetarian-only eateries.  In fact, I only personally know of one other place in Dallas proper that can claim that tag.

To repay me for dogsitting poet last weekend, I got Jesi to take me there this past Monday.  Food always tastes a little better when it’s free, does it not?  If that’s true, I guess you should take this review with a grain of salt, since that would mean that I’m biased.  Well so what?  The few times I’ve been here have all been good experiences, culinarily speaking.  This time was not an exception. 

I had the Mandala Pizza which is billed as an Indian style pizza on Naan bread.  The Naan is really the only thing “Indian” about it though.  It’s just fresh veggies, sauce, and cheese on Naan.  Simple, but yummy. 

The only problem was that it took about 40 minutes for my food to come out.  The waitress blamed it on the cooks, but I know how that works.  When I was a waiter, anytime I screwed up, I ALWAYS blame the cooks.  It’s too easy, and they’re not there to defend themselves.  It’s the perfect crime.

So, all in all, a good meal with subpar service, but usually they’re both stellar, so I’ll give them a pass this time.

Grade:  B+

 

Leave a Reply

